What Books are You Reading?

When I started on this journey in 2002, I started reading Rich Dad’s series of books. I started with his You Can Choose To Be Rich. It gave me a good picture of what would be needed to move from where I am to where I want to go. Rich Dad showed me my first P&L statement. I’ve heard about them and seen quick glimpses of them on tv or even at an accountant’s office but never in reference to myself. Robert Kiyosaki calls this an evaluation of your numbers. This lets you know where you are financially – debt, credit, etc. and what you have to do in order to get out of debt or whatever your financial plans may be. However, since most of us are in debt, this is usually the problem we may want to solve.

Although some people don’t want to deal with their truth. They don’t want to know what kind of financial situation they are in and they are in denial. They stick their head in the sand and hope the problem will go away. Dr. Phil’s question always comes to mind, “How’s that working for ya”?  Dr. Phil also says that you can’t change what you don’t acknowledge.

As a real estate newbie, you need to know your numbers. Your numbers will tell your story. There is no right or wrong, just your truth. So what books are you reading to find out your truth? I started with Rich Dad’s You Can Choose to Be Rich Program. You can use that one or anyone that you like – Suzie Orman, David Bach, or Dave Ramsey. This will put you in control of not only your thoughts but your finances.

Remember your thoughts are powerful things and if you are constantly worried about your finances, you are not going to move forward and get to the next level so get comfortable with your numbers and put your personal financial plan in action today. I would suggest picking up a good book from the library to get you started.

2 responses to “What Books are You Reading?

Leave a Reply

