Real Estate Newbies Do You Have A Sense of Urgency?

I really wasn’t sure what that meant at first or if I could actually “acquire” it. Then I thought about the fire that I experienced on February 7, 2000. I lost everything including my home. No place to live. The half-way house located across the street let me and my son stay there that night. The next morning I went back to the apartment to see the actual damage. Actually, the living room was fine in that there was no damage except for the apartment being filled with smoke. The bedroom was destroyed. The firemen threw everything out of the window – my clothes, the bedroom furniture – Everything in the room -Gone! At that moment the SENSE OF URGENCY kicked in. I knew that I needed to find a place for me and my son. I stayed with a friend for a few days and then I came to the realization that we needed to go to a shelter in order to get the help I needed. That’s what I initially thought. So into the local shelter we went – only for women and children. This was good because the other shelters were filled with both men and women and I would not have been comfortable going to sleep.

Well, here we are in the shelter and I’m running around like a chicken with my head cut off trying to find out what I need to do to get us into a new apartment. Social services was of no help. Meaning the social worker who was supposed to help me never showed up to the meeting that I scheduled to get the help I needed. I quickly realized that if anything was going to get done, I had to do it myself. I immediately asked for permission for my son to go to his father’s house so I could move around and not have to worry about him. Permission was granted and I took him to his dad’s. Then I made some calls to find out about the application I had on file in the apartment I am in now to find out how long it would take for me to be able to move down to Atlantic City, NJ. It would take 30 days. So we stayed in the shelter for another 30 days and moved into our apartment on April 1, 2000. I found a job as a medical transcriptionist at the local hospital and attempted to rebuild our lives.

Honestly, that is the only time I can think of that I had a true sense of urgency in my life. I’m sure there were other times but I can’t think of any right now that really moved me such as this situation.

Preston Ely, author of “The New Rich Manifesto” says that you  have to approach everything with a sense of urgency and if you don’t have a sense of urgency you need to develop one. Honestly, I don’t know how to do that but I do remember what it felt like when I experienced the fire. I was in a complete and total state of panic at all times because I was stressed out because I had no home. I don’t think I can do that all day while I’m moving forward to build a better quality of life.

Please share your thoughts on this.

Until next time,

Be Abundant, Be Joyous, Be Prosperous

Leave a Reply

