Real Estate Newbies, Are You Cold Calling?

You should. I can’t believe I’m saying this – me – the one who you couldn’t pay a million dollars to pick up the phone and cold call somebody. Oh hell no! Not this one. But yes you should do it. You should cold call because it stretches you. Yes, I know you don’t like the attitude people give you and some may even curse you out – that happened to me the other day. But you know what, I’m still growing and changing. You’re never going to see these people face-to-face unless of course you hit a jackpot and turn that person into a friend or customer and it can happen when you reach out with the intention of wanting to help the person on the other end instead of coming from a place of just wanting to help yourself. Now, I know you can and most of us do feel that way. but when you change your intention, you change not necessarily the outcome but more importantly your response to the outcome — especially if it is a negative one. I’m finding that the way people react is no reflection on you so don’t take it personally. These people are in their own individual world that have nothing to do with you and then boom here you come calling. Cold calling is interruption marketing and you must recognize and accept that when you cold call, you are interrupting the lives of the people you are offering your services to and their first response is to rip your head off some of the time. Other times you may catch them in a good mood and make a friend. I did yesterday when I called I spoke to a very gracious woman who took my information and said she would pass it on to anyone looking for my services. Now, I don’t know if that phone call will actually blossom into a client but she was very nice, kind and courteous and that’s rare these days. I would like to do something nice for her for just being so pleasant. Anyway, you have to get yourself to a point where you’re ready to make cold calls because it is more beneficial to you and your personal development than it is to the person on the other end. You learn how people respond and more importantly you learn how to respond to the type of person on the other end. Not nasty. Just polish your professionalism, say ok and move on to the next number on your list.

I know it’s not easy. It took me years to get over that fear but the lifestyle I desire and deserve is moving me past the fear and avoidance of learning how to cold call. I don’t believe I’m going to do use this method of filling my pipeline forever but it is a great teaching and learning tool. Well, get to scrubbing those numbers and calling some folk. What are you waiting for? When you get sick and tired of being sick and tired, you’ll start calling. I did.

Be Grateful Be Joyous Be Abundant.

Have a P3 Day –  Purposeful Productive Profitable.

Leave a Reply

