Real Estate newbies, Have I told you my Story? All of it?

Well here it goes.
I initially went to South Jersey Professional School of Business in 2002 after I got laid off from the local hospital. Hindsight is always 20/20. I could have stayed at the hospital and let them find me a position but being me and thinking I know what I’m doing and everything would come easy, I decided to seek my fortune. I took the pre-licensure class and I didn’t like it that agents had to be paid through their brokers so I didn’t take the test.

Fast forward to 2009, I was working part-time at Royal Suites and a receptionist. I had my license since 2007. I transferred it in 2009 to Keller Williams Realty Atlantic Shore . I thought it would be easy. I didn’t think I would be so afraid. I didn’t know what it would really take to succeed and when I found out I did everything but that. I was petrified. I looked for everything else to do except the actual ACTIONS I was supposed to take — Talk to people and let them know what I do and how I can help on a daily basis therefore putting together a schedule– my first marketing plan. INSTEAD, I did other things– got business cards, started a blog or two. Everything except what would actually bring me paying clients– TALKING to people everyday.

Now we are in December 2012. I have come full circle in my thinking and understand I can’t create the successful business I desire without paying g my dues like everybody else. That means making plenty of mistakes, getting rejected repeatedly, feeling like a fool in front of family, friends and strangers, etc. All of that.Who wants to do that? Well, you better want to if you want to succeed in a successful business. After finding that out and coming to this realization, I am still here just invested in myself with a great coach and will be figuring out how to invest in more coaching because I get that part of it. It was the last piece of the puzzle for me.
Having your coach/mentor holding your feet to the fire for daily accountability is what is going to get me where I need to go. Now all I have to do is INVEST in myself.

ARE YOU READY?

To your self-investment (cheers)